A to Z Bookish Survey

I love days like today, especially when I don’t have to work!  It is a classically rainy, blustery, gloomy October day.  Perfect opportunity to snuggle on the couch with a book and a cup of coffee.

Before I hunker down into a reading coma, here is a fun survey that I found on The Perpetual Page Turner blog.

AtoZsurvey-1017x1024

 Author You’ve Read the Most Books From: Brian Jacques

Best Sequel Ever: A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

Currently Reading: Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor

Drink of Choice While Reading: Coffee with hazelnut creamer or a cup of green tea

E-Reader or Physical Book: A physical book almost always wins out, but I do like my Kindle for travel or the awkwardness of bedtime reading

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated in High School: Neville Longbottom.  I could have picked some studly character, but I think Neville is more realistic.

Glad You Gave This Book a Chance: The Road by Cormac McCarthy

Hidden Gem Book: Every Last Cuckoo by Kate Maloy

Important Moment in Your Reading Life: When I snagged a job at my town’s library.  I was surrounded by books and it was considered “working!”  That was also the first time that I had my own library card, and I checked out books, cd’s, and movies to my heart’s content.

Just Finished: Love Saves the Day by Gwen Cooper

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read: romance, war history, anything by James Patterson

Longest Book You’ve Read: A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

Major Book Hangover Because Of: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Number of Bookcases You Own: 2, but I could use another considering the random book piles that are sitting here and there with no real home.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen.  This is one of my favorite summertime reads.

Preferred Place to Read: Either the couch or in bed

Quote That Inspires You/Gives You All the Feels From A Book You’ve Read: “Now, there are many millions in their sects and churches who feel the order, ‘Do thou,’ and throw their weight into obedience.  And there are millions more who feel predestination in ‘Thou shalt.’  Nothing they may do will interfere with what will be.  But ‘Thou mayest!’  Why, that makes a man great, that gives him stature with the gods, for in his weakness and his filth and his murder of his brother he still has the great choice.  He can choose his course and fight it through and win. … Think of the glory of the choice!  That makes a man a man.”  -from East of Eden, regarding “Timshel”

Reading Regret: Twilight series…they just kept getting worse, and I just kept reading them.  Blech.

Series You Started and Need to Finish (all books are out in series): Hunger Games, Divergent

Three of Your All-Time Favorite Books: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling, The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen, and The Little House by Virginia Lee Burton

Unapologetic Fangirl For: Lord of the Rings

Very Excited for This Release More Than All the Others: Winds of Winter, book 6 in A Song of Ice and Fire

Worst Bookish Habit: Overdue library books.  You’d think that after working in a library I would have a solid grasp on that thing called a “due date,” but alas, I’m still just as bad at getting those books back on time.

X Marks the Spot (start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book):  from my Goodreads shelf – The Hour I First Believed by Wally Lamb.  from my physical bookshelf -Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Your Latest Book Purchase: My Life in France by Julia Child

Zzz Snatcher (last book that kept you up way too late): Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

The original survey (including artwork) may be found here: http://www.perpetualpageturner.com/2013/08/some-friday-fun.html

Since I quoted East of Eden and the whole Timshel thing, now of course I have Mumford and Sons stuck in my head.  “And you have your choices, and these are what make man great, his ladder to the stars…”

Leave a Reply

